Taoiseach gives awards to Universities Ireland-IBEC-CBI North/South Masters Bursary Winners

The Taoiseach, Mr Brian Cowen TD, with the winners of the 2008 Universities Ireland-CBI-IBEC North/South Masters bursaries at the award ceremony in Trinity College Dublin on 2 October.

From left to right: Seamus Carlin, Aileen O'Doherty, the Taoiseach, Laura Duggan, TCD Provost Professor John Hegarty, CBI Northern Ireland Chairman Mr Brian Ambrose, Alan Coyne and Natasha McShane.

Seamus Carlin, a graduate of University of Ulster, is doing a PhD in the Performance Management of Sustainable Communites at the Centre for Cooperative Studies at University College Cork. Aileen O’Doherty, a graduate of University of Ulster, is doing an MSc in Marketing at the Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School, University College Dublin. Laura Duggan, a graduate of Trinity College Dublin, is doing an MSc in Leadership for Sustainable Development at Queen’s University Belfast. Alan Coyne, a graduate of University College Dublin, is doing a Masters in Legal Science at Queen’s University Belfast. Natasha McShane, a graduate of University of Ulster, is doing a Masters in Regional and Urban Planning at University College Dublin.

These annual bursaries, which are worth €20,000 each, are jointly sponsored by Universities Ireland and the following companies: George Best Belfast City Airport, Arthur Cox, Healy Group, RPS Group and Dublin Port Company.